How many treats can my diabetic dog have daily?

That is a very good question and one that I have had asked many times at pet expos. When I asked that question of my vet when Daisy was initially diagnosed with diabetes in 2006, he said “no treats allowed”. The more I researched the question, the more questions I had.

Holistic DVMs have discovered that diabetic or healthy dogs should never consume more than 30% of their daily intake of food / treats. Some vets have debated that dogs should never consume more than 10% of their daily intake.  You will need to display good judgement in what amount your dog should have daily. I have always given our bassets (each between 43 and 50 lbs.) about 6 small low-glycemic vegetable treats daily. If you have a toy poodle, then maybe 1 or 2 small vegetable treats would be appropriate daily. But if you have a 100 lb. black lab, then I would suggest a dozen or so small vegetable treats during the day. It all depends on activity level, if blood sugar levels are stable and of course, there could be other circumstances.

Bottom line in my opinion, is that you know your furry family member better than anyone else and you will make that decision based on your personal situation.

Howl and Drool along the way!

Pam

Leave a Reply

